Connect with us


VeeKay takes maiden IndyCar pole for first Harvest GP race

Rookie Rinus VeeKay took his maiden IndyCar pole position with a time of 1:09.6903 around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course as the sun set behind the grandstands.

He was in the second qualifying group, and had the advantage of running on the softer red tires on a cooling track to lay down the fastest time of the weekend.

The format for qualifying dictates that the group with the fastest qualifier makes up the inside rows, with the other group making up the outside rows.

This means that even though multiple drivers were faster than the best time laid out in the first group, they will start in the odd numbered positions down the grid.

The drivers who were in the first group had a major disadvantage that caused their speed deficit, which came in the form of Takuma Sato who spun and got stuck in the gravel two-thirds of the way through the session.

The ensuing red flag paused the session just as the field was looking to set quick times on the softer, red-walled tires.  Dixon, along with the rest of the field, was not able to improve on his first attempt, and will start on the sixth row.

Carrying a large points lead into the weekend, Dixon will look to fight his way through the field in order to maintain as much of his lead as he is able.

Josef Newgarden, however, had a good run in the early part of the session and will start on the front row.  He also earned a championship bonus point, something he desperately needs in order to help him catch Dixon in the standings.

Colton Herta was almost able to take the top position in the second group, but was unable to best VeeKay’s time and will start on the second row alongside Will Power.

Marco Andretti and Jack Harvey will make up the third row, with each driver hoping to get some good results before the season is out.

The first race of the Harvest GP double-header takes place Friday at 3:30 PM EDT.

# Driver Time
1 Rinus VeeKay 01:09.6903
2 Josef Newgarden 01:10.4706
3 Colton Herta 01:09.7048
4 Will Power 01:10.5686
5 Marco Andretti 01:09.7140
6 Jack Harvey 01:10.6234
7 Felix Rosenqvist 01:09.8007
8 Alexander Rossi 01:10.6500
9 Max Chilton 01:09.8193
10 Pato O’Ward 01:10.7290
11 Graham Rahal 01:09.8830
12 Scott Dixon 01:10.8953
13 Ryan Hunter-Reay 01:09.9872
14 Conor Daly 01:10.9374
15 Marcus Ericsson 01:10.0017
16 Sebastien Bourdais 01:10.9588
17 Alex Palou 01:10.0323
18 James Hinchcliffe 01:10.9630
19 Helio Castroneves 01:10.3965
20 Santino Ferrucci 01:11.0040
21 Sage Karam 01:10.6224
22 Simon Pagenaud 01:11.0488
23 Charlie Kimball 01:10.7500
24 Takuma Sato 01:14.8983
25 Dalton Kellett 01:11.7237


More in Motorsports