Connect with us


Power takes 64th career pole for GMR Grand Prix

Will Power has taken pole for the GMR Grand Prix from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, beating out Alex Palou as time expired.

The pole is Power’s 64th career pole, and places him just three behind the all-time leader Mario Andretti.

Palou held the top spot until the final lap of the Fast 6 session, but he will still have a good chance to take the top spot into the hard braking zone of Turn 1.

Josef Newgarden logged the third fastest time, and will start alongside the surprise of the day Conor Daly.

Daly looked like he might be able to take pole, but couldn’t quite get a lap put together on the faster, red-walled tires.

The Arrow McLaren SP duo both made the Fast 6 for the second consecutive race, and Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist will make up the third row of the grid on Saturday afternoon.

Graham Rahal and Romain Grosjean each advanced to the Top 12 session and will start the race near each other from 10th and 12th, which could rekindle their rivalry from the previous race at Barber.

Jack Harvey advanced into the Top 12 for the first time this year, along with his RLL team-mate Christian Lundgaard.  The two drivers ended qualifying in ninth and seventh respectively.

Colton Herta had a disappointing effort, which saw him narrowly miss out on advancing to the Top 12 segment.  The star driver will have to start Saturday’s race from all the way back in 14th position.

Rinus VeeKay and Scott Dixon also failed to advance past the first segment, and the two drivers who traditionally do well on this course will have to start from the back half of the field.

The GMR Grand Prix takes place Saturday afternoon at 3:00 PM Eastern, just as rain is predicted to roll into the area and bring chaos to the 2.44-mile road course.

# Driver Time Avg. Speed (MPH)
1 Will Power 01:09.7664 125.854
2 Alex Palou 01:09.8090 125.777
3 Josef Newgarden 01:09.8343 125.732
4 Conor Daly 01:09.9063 125.602
5 Pato O’Ward 01:10.0546 125.337
6 Felix Rosenqvist 01:10.0605 125.326
7 Callum Ilott 01:09.6530 126.059
8 Christian Lundgaard 01:09.6594 126.048
9 Jack Harvey 01:09.6899 125.992
10 Romain Grosjean 01:09.7100 125.956
11 Scott McLaughlin 01:09.7847 125.821
12 Graham Rahal 01:10.2950 124.908
13 Takuma Sato 01:09.8239 125.751
14 Colton Herta 01:09.8527 125.699
15 Rinus VeeKay 01:09.9550 125.515
16 Alexander Rossi 01:09.9178 125.582
17 Devlin DeFrancesco 01:10.1306 125.201
18 Marcus Ericsson 01:09.9294 125.561
19 Helio Castroneves 01:10.1417 125.181
20 Simon Pagenaud 01:09.9717 125.485
21 Scott Dixon 01:10.1694 125.131
22 Kyle Kirkwood 01:10.1954 125.085
23 Juan Pablo Montoya 01:10.7610 124.085
24 David Malukas 01:10.4755 124.588
25 Tatiana Calderon 01:11.0020 123.664
26 Dalton Kellett 01:10.7187 124.16
27 Jimmie Johnson 01:11.4599 122.872


More in Motorsports